Lead me Home

Hello, world.

I say world because I’m not sure who’s going to be reading this. I mean, few people create a blog thinking that no one will ever read it. Once you have a blog, it’s kind of like carrying around a baby – or a shotgun. You want to bring it into every conversation. “Oh, that’s terrible about your gerbil’s surgery – have you seen my .12 gauge?”

Yes, I did just compare a baby to a shotgun. Beware, reader, this is the kind of thing you’re getting yourself into by reading blog. Are you ready?

Me neither.

Well, anyways, because this is my first official post, I figured that I should explain my blog’s title.

I always struggle with titling things -even essays and papers for school- because I’m never sure if I’m going to stick with that idea. What if another, better idea evolves partway through? What if I get bored of the original idea? What if God speaks to me through the mouth of a giant snapping turtle and tells me, “Meh, ‘Lead us Home’ was okay, but I’ve got more for you than a cheesy reference to an old hymn. Let’s go with robots.”

Then I start thinking about giant robot fights and midway through building a scale model of their battle, I remember what I was originally trying to do.

Summary: I have trouble committing to themes. Let’s just see what comes from this one.

As you may or may not have guessed from that rambling paragraph, “Lead us Home” refers to the line from Amazing Grace (one of my favorite hymns – though, to be fair, I haven’t listened to many of them).

The line goes, “Through many dangers, toils and snares we have already come. T’was Grace that brought us safe thus far, and Grace will lead us home.”

I’m a big fan of grace for a number of reasons. For one, I’m discovering on a daily basis how very human I am – how many mistakes I make, and how much forgiveness and grace I need from other people. For two, I have experienced a lot of grace from God. Besides His impossibly amazing forgiveness and love, God has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams to be able to go on mission trips all around the world. For three, my second middle name is Grace (maybe in homage to all this) and that makes the concept even more relevant to me.

Really, it’s God’s grace that has been leading me and carrying me through all the messes in my life. God is so great and so good to me that He’s told me what He wants me to do with my life. God has called me to be a missionary in Cambodia.

If you think that’s crazy and amazing and scary, that’s only the beginning. I have no idea how I’m going to get there, and I have a very minimal idea what’s going on between now and then. I figure I’ll go to community college before university so that I can enhance my journalistic abilities for use on the missions field. But before that, I feel like I need to seriously seek after God in prayer and fasting – which is why I want to go to the IHOP-KC campus for a 3-month extended stay in their Commission program, specifically designed for those who want to do what I want to do.

Basically, I have a rough sketch of what I want to do, but more than what I want, I want to know what God wants for me. I want to do whatever He wants me to do. He’s given me bits and pieces of the map to my life. Some bits are written in pen, others carved in stone. I’m filling out the rest in pencil and giving God the eraser (totally stole that line from your friend, Jim!)

In short, I’m trusting God to lead me wherever He wants me to go. I’m not sure how far this rabbit hole goes, but you’re more than welcome to join me for the journey – or if not, you can just follow my account online.

It’s time to jump in. Are you ready?

Me neither.

Let’s do it anyway.

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

