Keep ‘Em Up

Sometimes I love being wrong.

I usually try not to get my hopes up for silly things – like the newest Jamba flavour or whatever it might be,

Recently, I tried out the Five Flavour Frenzy and expected sweet, frozen fruity deliciousness, but all I got was a strawful of disappointment. That kind of thing leaves a bad taste in your mouth (oh ho ho, aren’t I witty).

But I went back to Jamba a few days after that and tried something different – the Peach Pleasure. I told myself not to get my hopes up – that it would probably be a lot like last time. Nothing to see here, folks, just going to take a sip of some mediocre blended fruit.

I took a sip..

and promptly melted to the floor.

All I can say is, OM NOM NOM. (That’s the sound of eating, by the way.) I’m sooo happy I was wrong there, because that Peach Pleasure was like an explosion of rainbows and happiness inside my mouth.

Isn’t it great to be wrong sometimes?

That’s kind of the way I feel about my future this fall. I had a little penciled-sketch plan for myself, a ‘to-do list’ for the next five years or so. And I’m not so sure that that’s the plan for me anymore.

After looking into the IHOP-KC course, I received an email from the IHOP-Northwest people, who run a campus in Federal Way, WA – 30 mins away from where I live. They were starting up a similar school this fall, the first of its kind.

I eagerly applied and began working to raise money for my first month’s tuition.

Then something unexpected happened. Gary Wiens, the director of the IHOP-NW, wrote me an email saying that they hadn’t received enough applications to cover the cost of the school.

Disappointment.

But I kept reading. The email went on to say that instead, they were starting up a full-time internship at IHOP-NW. If I did that, I’d be working 10 hours a day, praying, studying, running the Prayer Room, and doing facility upkeep (read: scrubbing toilets).

Un-disappointment!

And even better than that, the program would go longer and be completely free!

Super-Awesome!

That’s the amazing things about God. With Him, you’re never getting your hopes up. If you don’t get exactly what you want, it’s because He has something EVEN BETTER in store for you. He has amazing, incredible, fantastical plans for you, for me, for all of us! (Jer. 29:11)

(Side note: God, you’re really cool. I happen to fancy you a lot. ;D)

So here I go. Seven days from now, I embark on my next great adventure – the IHOP-NW internship. I’ll probably be updating a lot more frequently, and who knows – I might even start promoting this blog…at all. I know some FLC church people who might like to know what I’m up to in these coming weeks and months.

Well, I don’t quite know what God has for me after Dec. 12 (when the internship ends), but until then, you’ll find me in the same place I’ve always been.

If you’re in a praying mood, pray that God would keep my heart open to listening to what He has to say to me, and to let me know what His will is for me for now, and for both the short and long-term future.

I don’t want to waste any time in doing my own thing. I want to follow God’s will for me in everything.

As for now, I’m going to keep my hopes for the future up.

Because God’s hopes are even higher, right? 🙂

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

