Things are not Okay Right Now

Does this look normal to you?

There is coming a day when the Bridegroom is taken away,

And in that day they will mourn;

In that day they will fast.

Things are not okay right now..

And they won’t be ‘till you come back!

I will embrace the ache of a lovesick heart.

There seems to be this unspoken hesitancy in the American church when discussing complete intimacy with Jesus.

I’ve only recently identified it in myself very recently (think ten minutes ago while brushing my teeth) – when people talk to me about having an intimate relationship with the heavenly Bridegroom, Jesus, I feel nervous and oppressed at the same time.

The issue, of course, is obvious – so obvious, in fact, that you just might have missed it.

How do you have an intimate relationship with someone you can’t see?

It’s not an issue of “does God exist” – He’s shown Himself to me in some amazing non-visual ways and I know that I know that I know that God is real.

It’s an issue of “Jesus is supposed to be my Lover, my Husband, my Bridegroom – how do I love someone I cannot physically see?”

That’s the thing, isn’t it? No one seems to mention this all-important fact.

I think I feel the way I feel in these kinds of discussions because it seems like every other Christian has figured out a way around the issue, and I’m the only one lagging behind.

Of course, we’ve all heard stories of people who’ve had amazing, life-changing visions of Jesus and angels and heaven and that is absolutely fantastical. We’ve heard stories of people who go to pray and just sit there while God speaks volumes to them about life, the universe, and everything (these are the stories that make me feel lovely and condemned for not being a super-Christian).  We know that Jesus absolutely communicates with His bride.

Personally, I can count the number of times I’ve heard God speak to me in the still, small voice on my hands. I’d like to think I know some things about Jesus, and the more I learn about Him the more I love Him. I’ve physically felt His presence and seen what happens when He moves, but darn it, that’s hard to base a full marriage relationship on!

Well, gee, haven’t some things been said about long-distance relationships?

This is what I realized while listening to “Mourning for the Bridegroom” and brushing my teeth.

We were never meant to live like this. We weren’t meant to live apart from our Bridegroom. We’re supposed to live together and physically see each other face-to-face and delight in one another’s presence for eternity.

Things aren’t like that now, but we shouldn’t settle for this!

We can’t settle for a long-distance relationship when we were meant to gaze on the beauty of our Lover forevermore!

Beloved (I say that addressing the church, the beloved of Jesus, the Lover of our souls), it’s just not how we were made.

But the fact is, we are apart right now. Jesus is physically in heaven while we are physically on earth, and though He delights to speak to us and reveal Himself to us in visions and manifest His presence in us, we aren’t living in the perfect, face-to-face relationship that God had in mind from the beginning – the kind of relationship He had with Adam and Eve.

So, what now?

Now, we discover that it’s okay to not be content with not being able to see Jesus.

Now, we discover that it’s okay to long for more.

Now, we “embrace the ache of a lovesick heart” and pray for Jesus to come quickly.

But in the meantime, we must continue labouring (by our Husband’s strength) to raise up His complete and perfect Bride.

Things are not okay right now.

And they won’t be ‘till You come back.

I will embrace the ache of a lovesick heart.

Thank you, Jesus, that You desire more for me.

Thank you that You’ve placed those desires in my heart – that it’s okay to want more of You.

Come quickly, Jesus.

Raise up Your Bride.

What do you think? Have you ever wanted something from God that you felt like you couldn’t (or shouldn’t) ask for?

(By the way, things are going better than okay with my living situation right now… more on that later. This is just a super-cool thing Jesus dropped into my heart last night. ~S)

Leave a Reply

