That’s How You Know

Confessions of a blogger: I adore this song.

It’s adorable, bubbly and talks about how a woman loves to be valued and cherished (very good point!). I remember walking down the hall of my dorm singing it to myself sometime in January/February of this year and flipped the lyrics around to sing it about God – cheesey, I know, but I was feeling grumpy and sickish, so I just went with it.

And as I sung the line, “How does He know I love Him – how does He know He’s mine?” I felt super convicted about fruit in my life. It’s always an interesting check-in song for me and it happened to pop up on my iPod today. Usually I skip past the random seven-ish Disney songs I have on my iPod, but today I was on a long bus ride and figured, what the heck.

Surprisingly, I started engaging in the song with that same mindset of ‘what are things I can do to show God I love him,’ not out of obligation or legalism, but just out of adoration. I was intrigued and fascinated by the idea, and as I pondered the idea of simple ways to reflect love to God, God started to turn the song around and see it from the other perspective – “He’ll find his own way to tell you with the little things He’ll do/That’s how you know/That’s how you know He’s your love.”

There’s so much more to that song that I sat there on the 21 bus to work with the song on repeat as the lover of my soul wooed me through a Disney song. Not profoundly spiritual and I can’t come up with a theological defense for the whole thing, but it was one of the best commutes that I’ve had in a while.

I leave you with this thought:

The Lord your God is with you,
the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you;
in his love he will no longer rebuke you,
but will rejoice over you with singing
-Zephaniah 3:17

Leave a Reply

